A Bunch of Words · Writing Tasks

A Country BBQ

Another writing task for University. This one was to write about a time I felt like an outsider. I challenged myself to write it as a happy story though not the normal sad ones I tend to write. So here it is…

It’s hot.
It’s muggy.
And I don’t like this thick humidity.
But I think I’m the only one who doesn’t.

They’re all smiling and laughing. The kids are playing in the tiny pool. Josh has just got his dirt bike out and he’s taking some of the other kids for a ride on it. His dad has gone to check on the barbie. Not that we need any more food. There’s plenty on the table that we’re not eating and the flies are eyeing it off.
I’m used to that though. I’ve had plenty of family BBQ’s by the pool with too much food and too many flies. It’s the scenery I’m not used to. And the weather but I knew I wouldn’t like the weather before he convinced me to fly up to Cairns.

This reminds me of my cousins down in Tassie. At least, it reminds me of what I imagine their lives would be like. What I remember from the last time I was there. Five years ago.
My cousin’s don’t have a pool though. It’s nice and old down in Tassie, unlike this place. They don’t need one.  But they’re happy. The land is really green here and there. “Green like you’ve never seen!” And they have country BBQ’s.
That’s what it is.
The country.

I’ve never thought of myself as a city girl. I’ve never thought I was a country girl either but I was sure I wasn’t a city girl. Well… maybe I am. I’m not a big city girl, I know that. Cities are too busy. I even avoid the city in Canberra. Not that Canberra is really that much of a city.
But here, out here in the country feels nice. It feels right.
I mean, I still don’t feel like I belong. I wasn’t raised in the country. I’m not used to this simpler way of life. It looks like a happier way of life too. I feel… well I feel like I’m watching this. They all know each other and I’m just Josh’s friend from Canberra. I don’t really feel a part of this. But I feel like I could be.

Maybe it’s my country roots that make me feel that. Mum was a country girl. Dad wasn’t. He was a townie. He still wasn’t a city boy though.

Josh has finished giving the kids rides. Now he’s next to me at the table again. He’s still on his bike.

“Hop on,” he says as he nods to the back seat, if you can call it a seat. As a smile spreads over my face I leave the table and get on the bike.

“You better hold on,” he says. But there’s nothing to hold on to but him. I wrap my arms around his waist and he takes off for a lap around the house. The smile doesn’t leave my face.

I like it here. I might not feel like I belong here but I feel like I could.

Leave a Reply

