A Bunch of Words · Creative Responses

I’m Dreaming of a Hot Christmas

Well, this was originally from a few years ago. But it’s near christmas and i haven’t posted it up on this blog yet so here it is.

Its that time of the year and I have had to listen to way too many christmas carols already. At work it seems like we only have one christmas CD in our room so it gets played over and over and over again. You when a whole CD is played heaps and you swear there is only like 2 or 3 songs on the CD – you know there are more but your mind on tunes in for a select few every time its played. Well, “I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas” is one of those songs on this CD. 

Living in Australia… we don’t get a white christmas. Sometimes this song annoys me, especially after the seventh time hearing it within 6 hours! So, my mind, being the way it is, decided to change the lyrics to fit an Australian Christmas; the ones I know and love. (I would love to experience a white christmas but a nice hot Aussie christmas is what I love). 

Well, without further ado, here are the lyrics:

I’m dreaming of a hot Christmas

Just like the ones I used to love

With a summer fruit brunch

A BBQ lunch

The hot sun shining up above.

I’m dreaming of a hot Christmas

Spent by the poolside or the lake

With a pavlova not cake

Oh, I’m wishing for a Christmas break

 

Leave a Reply

