A Bunch of Words · Creative Responses

Lifestyle of the Shadow Hunters

This wouldn’t be the first time I have re-written the words to a song to fit a fandom. I mean, I re-wrote A Whole New World for Doctor Who. This one’s background, however, is slightly different. As I said in the other crossover, I love Aladdin and I love Doctor Who and while I do really like Good Charlotte… It’s the Immortal Instruments that I have a problem with. I really enjoyed the first book and then my sister introduced me to Robin Hobb’s books and well, Cassandra Clare (and most popular “young adult” books these days) just don’t cut it for me. I did read the next three books but that was a struggle. My mind can’t handle teeny bopper stuff anymore, it’s too annoying. I don’t think I will finish the series. The only reason I even saw the movie was because of that handsome Irish actor; Aidan Turner. Yep, not gonna lie, he was the guy I was admiring (back then).

Anyway, despite the fact that I am not a biggest fan of the books or the movie, when I was reading them I did like the werewolves and fairies. They were pretty awesome and if I was to live in the world, I guess I would want to be one of them. Wasn’t as big a fan of the shdowhunters. The idea was cool but the actual people… not so much.

I have this curse with my creativity where I can’t read a book or watch something without coming up with side story lines and characters etc. While listening to my music, I kinda decided that the werewolves would have a band and it would kinda be a… punk band. A punk band that hates the shadowhunters.  And so, while listening to Lifestyle of the Rich and Famous by Good Charlotte tonight my mind did this cross over. I imagine that the band would sing this to piss off the annoying shadowhunnters.

So here it is:

Doesn’t it just make you laugh
Or does it make you feel sick
Shadowhunters who want sympathy
All they do is hate our kind
Never give us piece of mind
Talkin’ about how hard killlin’ us can be

I’d like to see them spend a week
Livin’ life out on our streets
having to live with downworlders
If they could spend a day or two
Livin’ life without those runes
I think they’d crumble and they’d fall
(they would fall, fall)

Lifestyles of the Shadowhunters
They’re always complainin’
Always complainin’
If they were born of angels
Then why are they evil
Much more than we are?

Well did you know when you’re a Nephilim you could kill a vamp
And there’s no such thing as 25 to life
All because you have that right or some other crap
Do you think they know that they’re the Big Bad Wold
That we tell our children of at night
To not break the stupid accords and end up dead

I’d like to see them spend a week
Livin’ life out on our streets
Having to live with downworlders
If they could spend a day or two
Livin’ life without those runes
I think they’d crumble and they’d fall
They would fall

Lifestyles of the Shadownhunters
They’re always complainin’
Always complainin’
If they were born of angels
Then why are they evil
Much more than we are (we are)
(They would fall, they would fall)

Lifestyles of the Shadowhunters
They’re always complainin’
Always complainin’
If they were born of angels
High almighty angels
Why are they killers

Lifestyles of the Shadownhunters
You have those Immortal instruements so just stop complainin’
Lifestyles of the Shadowhunters
Lifestyles of the Shadowhunters
Lifestyles of the Shadownhunters

Leave a Reply

